NFPA 2112

Standard on flame-resistant garments for protection of industrial personnel against flash fire. This standard protects workers from flash fire exposure and injury by specifying performance requirements and test methods for flame-resistant fabric and garments. Black Stallion® NFPA 2112 garments are certified by UL® and meet OSHA 1910.132. 



Standard for electrical safety in the workplace. NFPA 70E requirements were established to protect workers by reducing exposure to major electrical hazards. Requires employees to wear flame-resistant clothing as protection against arc flash. NFPA 70E requires ASTM F1506. Meets OSHA 1910. 269. 



Arc Rated Category. Formerly known as HRC. Guidelines used to determine the necessary arc rating of a garment worn during a given job task that has been identified to pose an arc flash hazard. i.e. ARC 2 requires minimum ATPV rating of 8, arc-rated shirt (long sleeve) and pants or coverall. The ARC defines the protective characteristics of the fabric, and is determined by the ATPV (Arc Thermal Protective Value). The higher the ARC, the greater the protection. 



Arc Thermal Protective Value. Measurement of how much heat can be exposed to a flame-resistant garment before the onset of a second degree burn injury is expected to occur. It signifies the amount of protection the clothing will provide when an electrical arc comes in contact with the fabric. The ATPV determines which Arc Rated Category (ARC) the garment falls under. The higher the ATPV, the greater the protection. 


ASTM F1506

Standard performance specification for flame-resistant and arc rated textile materials for wearing apparel for use by electrical workers exposed to momentary electric arc and related thermal hazards. 



OSHA is part of the United States Department of Labor. It was created to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance. 



ANSI/ISEA 107-2010 is a standard designed to protect workers against hazards of low visibility, and to enhance the visibility of workers who are exposed to struck-by hazards. 


ANSI Cut Level

ANSI/ISEA 105-2011 defines performance levels for cut resistance and abrasion resistance and uses a numeric rating scheme for classifying hand protection against a variety of performance assessments with ANSI cut 4 offering the highest level of protection. 


EN388 Cut Level

The European standard which uses different level groupings and a completely different method of testing than ANSI/ISEA 105. Each EN388 test is classified by four numerals defined chronologically as abrasion, cut, tear, and puncture. 

Over 70,000 welding supplies
Safe and secure shopping
Questions 0296 957 503